Who May Apply for Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP):
You must be at least 21 years old with no felony, domestic violence, or alcohol related criminal convictions and legally able to own a firearm to attend this class. You are required to take a handgun safety class in order to get your Arizona CWP. If you have already taken a handgun safety class then you are not required to take another. You must be a US citizen to get the Arizona CWP and pass the background check performed by Arizona.
If you already possess a concealed carry license where a handgun safety class was required the cost is $20 and you’re not required to attend the class again. If you are taking this class with another one of our classes, the cost will be $20. We will fingerprint you and give you the necessary paperwork to mail to Arizona.
What you should bring to the class:
Please bring your government issued photo ID and note taking materials.
We do not teach this class by itself any longer. We now teach the Oregon, Utah and Arizona all in one class. The main reason people want the Arizona permit is because it’s good in the State of New Mexico. Oregon and Utah are not.
This class meets the minimum training requirements and covers these topics:
- Basic Handgun Safety
- Laws on weapons and deadly force
- Self-defense principles and defensive mindset
- Concealed carry equipment and techniques
You are NOT to bring any firearms, ammunition, or recording devices of any kind.
Applying for the CWP:
You will receive a course completion certificate, which will have my instructor information and signature on it. You will then mail a copy of the certificate to Arizona in the envelope provided. If you have taken the handgun safety class in the past a copy of your CHL will be enough. To purchase your Arizona CWP you will need to mail them a cashiers check or money order for $60 along with your application and fingerprint cards. The renewal fee is $43 every 5 years.